Bureau of Compliance Monitoring
Pesticide Dealer Licensing
- Pesticide Dealer License Requirements
- Pesticide Dealer License Procedure, Duration, and Fees
- Pesticide Sale and Distribution Regulations
- Database Searches
- Forms and Documents
- Contact Us
All persons (individuals, businesses, other entities) who sell, hold for sale, or offer for sale restricted use pesticides (RUPs) into or within the state of Florida must have a pesticide dealer license issued by the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. A license is required regardless of whether sale/distribution of restricted use pesticides is to end users or to other dealers or distributors. If a company has more than one business location, each location must have a separate license. Licenses are not transferable from one company to another. Transport of RUPs from one location to another without change in ownership of the products is not considered distribution and does not require a license. No pesticide dealer license is required in Florida for the sale or distribution of general use or unclassified pesticides.
There is no certification or exam requirement to get a Florida pesticide dealer license. The only requirement is the submission of a completed Application for Pesticide Dealer License and license fee of $250 to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services.
Florida pesticide dealer licenses are valid for 12 months and generally expire at the end of the month one year from issue date.
License renewal notices are mailed approximately 60 days prior to expiration date. Pesticide dealer licenses must be renewed before they expire, or a new license must be obtained to continue sale and distribution of restricted use pesticides in Florida.
The license and renewal fees are $250/year. Renewed licenses generally expire one year from the previous expiration date.
Federal Regulation - The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency regulates the production of pesticides at registered producing establishments in the U.S. After pesticide products are released for shipment from producing establishments and enter the channels of trade, sale and distribution are generally regulated by state-specific regulations on pesticide sale and distribution within each state.
Florida Regulation - In Florida, the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services regulates pesticide sale and distribution. Florida laws and regulations that pertain to pesticide sale and distribution are contained in the document Florida Laws and Rules Pertaining to Pesticide Sale and Distribution.
For information on pesticide regulations in other states, or to verify the status of pesticide applicator or dealer licenses issued in other states, go to the National Pesticide Information Center’s links to State Pesticide Regulatory Agencies.
3125 Conner Blvd., Bldg. 8 (L-29)
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1650
(850) 617-7870 (telephone)
(850) 617-7895 (fax)
For questions, concerns, complaints or compliments please email us at AESCares@FreshFromFlorida.com